Public Administration Circular No: 08/2014

My No: EST-7/OFTIM/07/1011 Ministry of Public Administration and Home Affairs Independence Square Colombo 07

31.03.2014

Secretaries to Ministries Chief Secretaries of Provinces Heads of Departments

Office Hours of Public Officers

Your attention is drawn to Public Administration Circular No. 09/2006 dated 2006.05.30 issued on office hours of public officers. It has been decided at the meeting of the Cabinet of Ministers held on 2013.11.11 to grant the following concession determined by the above circular in connection with office hours of public officers.

- 02. To take action in the following manner subject to the confirmation made by the Head of the Institution to the effect that the tasks performed by relevant officer can be continued without interruption and no prescriptions have been made otherwise on the office hours.
 - (a) To grant permission to the officers who should report for duty at 8.30 a.m. to leave the office at 4.00 p.m. if they report for duty at 8.15 a.m. or before only at the occasions where there are no duties to be performed for the day after office hours on exigency of service.
 - (b) To further provide the concession granted by Public Administration Circular No. 162 dated 01.04.1980 to officers in Primary Grade.
- 03. The concessions mentioned in (a) and (b) above should be given only after verifying that the officers concerned perform the duties assigned to them during the period they remain at office.
- 04. The concession in Para 02(a) above should not be applied to the officers holding/ acting/ performing duties in a post to which an official vehicle is assigned/officers who have been provided with transport facilities and officers who have been provided with group transport facilities.

Sgd/. P.B. Abeykoon Secretary Ministry of Public Administration and Home Affairs